Our practical know-how stems from our long-term, in-depth experience in surface science. The goal of all our activities is to optimally combine innovative and established processes in order to offer you industrially relevant applications.

Thin polymer coatings

Our unique, proprietary and patented coatings are the result of many years of research, reflected in the numerous publications of our team members and partners.

The main features of each coating are, on the one hand, its functionality and, on the other hand, its adhesion to a substrate. The functionality is defined by the specific needs of our customers, given the potential application. Good adhesion is dependent on the substrate material. It is sometimes impossible to choose a substrate material freely, for a variety of reasons. Our research is therefore focused on developing new functionalities, as well as on novel adhesion technologies that allow effective binding to various substrates. Within this process, we constantly bear in mind the industrial suitability of each application and process.

The functionality of our polymers can be divided into four areas.

Bio-functional coatings: We offer various coating solutions for the selective binding of macromolecules, proteins or cells. Such coatings are applied in diagnostics and bioanalysis. With our polymer coatings, the biological components that are to be measured are bound onto the detection device. Simultaneously, the adsorption of unwanted components can be prevented, leading to a better signal-to-noise ratio. On implants, these films can be used to support and enhance the healing process, while avoiding the unspecific adhesion of bacteria.

Non-fouling coatings: Within the EU Marie Curie “Seacoat” project, we tracked mechanisms of biofilm formation on surfaces. Following the resulting insights, we developed a “non-fouling” coating that prevents the adhesion of unwanted organic or inorganic contaminants (particles, living matter, etc.) on any surface.

Highly lubricious coatings: In order to achieve high lubricity under both dry and wet conditions, we created a number of novel coating solutions, including some products that are silicone-free and Teflon-free, and therefore especially suitable for applications in the medical field. One of our newest innovations is an ecologically compatible lubricant that was inspired by nature. With this polymer, we are able to successfully imitate mechanisms that take place in human joints.

Adhesion promoters and primers: Whether it's a case of plastic, metal, glass or ceramics, where other adhesives fail, SuSoS' solutions will significantly improve adhesion, with no unnecessary plasma or corona pretreatment. You can choose between two types of molecularly thin coatings that differ in their application process and in their composition: adhesion promoter and hydrophilic primer solution (HPS).

With the adhesion promoter, a strong, direct chemical bond between the substrate and the functional layer (polymer, paint, glue or adhesive) can be achieved. With HPS, the substrate is treated with a layer that contains various molecules (including the adhesion promoter). In this way, the chemical affinity of the substrate to the functional layer is permanently improved.

Coating processes

As our polymer coatings are deposited from the liquid phase, the possibilities of deposition processes onto a substrate are manifold. Dipping, spraying or jetting are just a few alternatives. With our robot-supported coating service, many of these processes can be automated. This facility also provides printing, dosing, suction, vacuum suction, drying and blow-drying. In addition, the generation of specific surface patterns is possible, as well as the handling of complex 3-D structures.

Analytical know-how

We always strive to offer our customers cutting-edge surface analysis technologies and service.

We support you with troubleshooting, contamination analysis and quality control. We use X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy not only for elemental composition analysis, but also to analyze the nano-morphology or topography of surfaces. Our Area Manager of Analytics was able to learn this analysis principle directly from Prof. Sven Tougaard, the pioneer who first described this method. Our clients are thus able to profit from our team’s extensive knowledge and extract much more from one XPS analysis than just the elemental composition.

One of our special strengths lies in the way we combine a host of analytical methods. Integrating data that is derived from various techniques provides information not only on single aspects of a material, but also on the interactions of these characteristics. For example, from a combination of XPS depth profiling and ellipsometry measurements one can derive the correct layer sequence, as well as the layer thicknesses of a multilayer structure. Ellipsometry models can subsequently be developed from these results, and these models can in turn be used within non-destructive quality-control protocols for samples of the same line of products.

Contact us and learn more about possible applications of SuSoS' know-how and technologies for your products!

SuSoS Technologien und Know-how Portfolio entstehen aus unserer mehrjährigen Erfahrung im Oberflächen-Bereich. Das Ziel in allen unseren Aktivitäten ist die optimale Kombination von Innovation und etablierten Prozessen um Industrie-relevante Ansätze bieten zu können.

Dünne Polymerschichten

Unsere einzigartigen, patentierten Beschichtungen sind das Resultat aus vielen Jahren Forschung, wie die zahlreichen Publikationen unserer Firmenmitglieder und Partner zeigen.
Die Hauptmerkmale einer Beschichtung bestehen einerseits in der Funktion und andererseits in der Haftung zum Substrat. Während die Funktion über den Kundenwunsch, bzw. über den erwünschten Nutzen definiert wird, ist eine gute Haftung abhängig vom Substrat auf dem die Schicht appliziert wird. Diese ist oft, aus den verschiedensten Gründen, nicht beliebig frei wählbar. Deswegen ist unsere Forschung einerseits auf die Entwicklung von neuen Funktionalitäten ausgerichtet. Andererseits beschäftigen wir uns intensiv mit der Entwicklung von Technologien welche die beste Haftung auf den unterschiedlichsten Substraten liefern. Und natürlich verlieren wir dabei nie die Industrietauglichkeit aus dem Blick.

Bezüglich der Funktionen lassen sich unsere Beschichtungstechnologien folgendermassen in vier Gruppen aufteilen

Biofunktionelle Schichten: In diesem Bereich bieten wir Ihnen die unterschiedlichsten Beschichtungslösungen zur selektiven Bindung von Makromolekülen, Proteinen oder Zellen. Diese Schichten kommen in der Diagnostik und Bio-Analyse zum Einsatz. Mithilfe unserer Polymer-Beschichtungen werden die zu messenden biologischen Komponenten an die Messeinheit gebunden. Zugleich wird die Ablagerung ungewollter Komponenten unterbunden und somit Störfaktoren in der Messung eliminiert. Auf Implantaten können diese Schichten dazu genutzt werden um einerseits Heilungsprozesse zu fördern, während gleichzeitig die unspezifische Ablagerung von Bakterien verhindert wird.

Non-fouling Schichten: Im Rahmen des EU – Marie Curie Projekts „Seacoat“ verfolgten wir die Mechanismen von Biofilmbildung auf Oberflächen. Aus diesen Erkenntnissen entwickelten wir sogenannte „Non-fouling Beschichtungen“. Diese verhindern die Adhäsion unerwünschter organischer oder anorganischer Kontaminationen (Partikel, Lebensformen, etc.) auf jeder beliebigen Oberfläche.

Hochschmierende Schichten und Additive: Um hohe Schmierung im nassen und trockenen Zustand zu erreichen, haben wir für Sie neuartige Beschichtungslösungen zusammengestellt. Dazu zählen auch vollkommen Silizium- und Teflon-freie Beschichtungen. Dadurch eignen sich diese besonders bei Anwendungen im medizintechnischen Bereich.

Eine unserer jüngsten Innovationen ist ein umweltfreundliches, und natur-inspiriertes Schmiermittel. Um diese Vision zu verwirklichen, haben wir dieselben Prinzipien nachgeahmt, wie sie in den menschlichen Körpergelenken auftreten.

Haftvermittler und Primer: Ob Kunststoff, Metall, Glas oder Keramik. Wo andere Haftmittel scheitern, ermöglichen SuSoS Haftungslösungen eine deutliche Haftungsverbesserung. Dabei benötigen unsere Lösungen keine Plasma- oder Koronavorbehandlung. Zur Auswahl stehen zwei Arten von hauchdünnen Lösungen, die sich in ihrem Applikationsprozess und in ihrer Zusammenstellung unterscheiden: Haftvermittler und hydrophile Primer Solution (HPS).

Beim ersten Fall entsteht, dank dem Haftvermittler, eine starke, direkte, chemische Bindung zwischen Substrat und funktioneller Schicht (Polymer, Lack, Kleber oder Leim). Beim Primer wird das Substrat mittels einer Schicht die verschiedene Moleküle enthält (darunter den Haftvermittler) behandelt. Somit wird die chemische Affinität des Substrats gegenüber der funktionellen Schicht dauerhaft verbessert.

Beschichtungsprozesse

Da unsere Polymer-Beschichtungen aus flüssiger Phase abgeschieden werden, können sie auf vielfältige Weise auf das jeweilige Substrat aufgebracht werden. Zu diesen Prozessen zählen unter anderem Tauchen, Sprühen und Jetten. Durch unseren Roboter-gestützten Beschichtungs-Service können diese Prozesse automatisiert werden. Daneben können mit dieser Anlage auch Prozesse wie Drucken,  Dosieren, Absaugen, Vakuumabsaugen, Trocknen und Blasen durchgeführt werden. Diese Anlage ermöglicht ebenfalls das gezielte Erstellen von Pattern.

Analytisches Know-how

Für Sie bleiben wir auch in der Oberflächenanalyse Technologie immer am Puls der Zeit.

Wir nutzen Röntgen Photoelektronen Spektroskopie nicht nur um die chemische Zusammensetzung sondern auch um die Nano-Morphologie bzw. Topographie einer Probe zu bestimmen. Unsere Area Managerin Analytics hatte die Möglichkeit dieses spezielle Analyse-Verfahren, während einer kurzen Zusammenarbeit, direkter vom Entwickler Prof. Sven Tougaard zu erlernen. Damit haben Sie die Möglichkeit aus nur einer Messung sehr viel mehr zu lernen als mit den Standard-Verfahren.

Eine unserer Stärken liegt in der Kombination der einzelnen Methoden. Aus der Verknüpfung mehrerer Analyse-Verfahren folgen nicht nur einzelne Aspekte eines Materials, sondern auch die Wechselwirkung und Zusammenhänge zwischen diesen. Am besten lässt sich das anhand eines Beispiels darstellen. Aus der Verbindung von XPS Tiefenprofil Messungen und Ellipsometrie konnten wir die korrekte Schicht-Struktur sowie die jeweiligen Schichtdicken ablesen. Daraus entwickelten wir ein Ellipsometrie-Modell für schnelle und zerstörungsfreie Qualitätskontrollen für Proben die aus derselben Produktschiene stammten.

Kontaktieren Sie uns und erafhren Sie über die Möglichkeiten wie SuSoS‘ Technolgien und Know-how für Ihre Produkte eingesetzt werden können.